Hmm…What was I supposed to be doing again?

2 07 2010

I know, I know! It’s been far too long (almost 2 months!!!) since I’ve posted anything here! I keep saying I want to get back to blogging, but family, job searches, and a myriad of other things keep jumping in the way of that goal. I’ll think of – and maybe even start – typing something up only to find that I’ve run out of time…or fallen asleep. Then, after a few weeks, I feel out of practice and everything I think of to write just feels forced; family activities feel too shallow, worship thoughts too deep, and politics too emotional. I mean, let’s face it, nobody is reading this thing anymore anyway and…

You get the idea.

It’s kind of funny how we make excuses for not doing the things we say we really enjoy. I’m not saying that life is always simple or easy. Sometimes have to do things we may not like, and those things are going to displace the “fun” stuff. But when it happens with any regularity, we have to wonder if the “fun” stuff we say we want to do is really something that we want to do…

…like this blog…or maybe eating food that’s bland because that’s what we are having for dinner (Samuel!!!)…or…maybe going to worship?

The question here is priority. Are your priorities in the right place? I haven’t been blogging because I’ve been rather busy working, spending time with the family, trying to find another job that better supports that family, and even resting occasionally. I really do like blogging and I intend to keep doing so when I can. But for now, those other things are – rightfully! – more important and have precluded any blog posts (for which I am sorry. Really!)

As a Christian, worship must be a priority…even over family and job searches and resting. Regardless of your situation, are you in regular worship? I could not have made it through these past several months if I wasn’t regularly coming before God’s throne and just telling Him how wonderful He is, remembering all that He has done, and thinking of all that He can and will do! It didn’t even have to be in a formal worship service. But what if I had let my other concerns get in the way of worship? Where would I be?

It’s something I’d rather not think about, personally. But there are those out there who, like me with my blogging, have let other things get in the way of worship. We say it’s important, but our actions say otherwise. And now, it’s hard to get back into it because we are out of practice.

Jesus says: “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” (Luke 12: 34 (NIV)). And the writer of Hebrews encourages us to “not give up meeting together, as some are in the habit of doing…” (10: 25a) If we value God, our faith, and our salvation, then we make worship a priority…and we worship. If not? Well, then, we plug on and wonder why things aren’t quite going our way. Even if it’s been a while, you can jump back into the saddle. Look at me: I finally finished and published another post!


Actions

Information

6 responses

16 07 2010
Tim Hartnett

Eric, Great to hear from you again. You were missed! Thanks for the reminder that worship does not have to be a “formal” worship service. All we have to do is remember He is our Savior and always wants to listen to us and for us to talk to him about it all!
Tim

16 07 2010
Eric

Tim – now if I can only get things worked around to be doing this more often! It’s so fun!

I appreciated your comments…so true!!! Christ just wants to meet us where we are.

5 07 2010
Bruce

Hey! glad to here from you, i miss your Sat. night low key loving of Jesus.
Blessings to you and your wonderful family.
BB

6 07 2010
Eric

Bruce – Thanks so much. I miss the Sat. night meeting as well. It was a great time of worship and a great group of people. Blessings to you as well!

2 07 2010
Debbie

Hey Eric. It’s good to hear from you again. I miss your Spirit lead worship. I’m praying for you guys.

3 07 2010
Eric

Debbie – it was great to be writing again! I’m also glad to know that someone is still reading 🙂 Thank you for your encouragement and your prayers…all is much appreciated!

Leave a comment